Posted on February 11th, 2015 by Sara Funduk - 0 comments

We have a couple new features to tell you about today and I'm very excited because a few of these changes have been requested many times by you guys! Let's not waste any time and get right into it because I know you'll want to hear about this.

Customized URLs

Now you can create a custom URL for your course! This can really help to maintain a seamless transition from your website to your e-course. A custom URL will look something like this: https://coursecraft.net/c/yourcoursename Go to the 'share' page of your course to get your custom URL.

Bundled Courses

This is another feature we've heard you ask for many times. It's been in the works for a long time so I'm very happy to finally be able to tell you about it! You'll now have the ability to sell 2 or more courses in a bundle together. So that means you can bundle up your courses and sell them as a package as well as individually. If you're interested in doing this, be sure to check out the help doc. If you've already created more than 1 course, you'll notice a new tab on the dashboard called 'bundled courses'.


Now, with those 2 new features comes a bit of a change in our how our pricing works. We're introducing an upgrade called "Pro".

So what is a Pro Course?

Upgrading your course to Pro will give you some added benefits that a regular course doesn't have. The upgrade costs a one-time payment of $49 and your course will have these perks forever.

  • Unlimited participants
  • Unlimited uploads
  • Set a custom URL (ex: coursecraft.net/c/yourcoursename)
  • Ability to bundle with other Pro courses
  • Free custom branding

The Pro upgrade will definitely give you some pretty cool stuff. We tried to keep the price reasonable because we know what it's like to be a small business owner with a budget. But the amount of money you'll save on custom branding fees can offset the cost of the upgrade in no time! Check out the help doc for detailed info on Pro courses.

Free Usage Limits

You also probably noticed something else. We've put limits on the number of participants and uploads you can have with a non-Pro course. Courses that aren't upgraded will be limited to 100 participants and 1GB of uploads. Don't worry, many of you will never hit those limits and won't have to worry about it. It's more than possible to create a course only using 1GB of uploads. Once you upload your assets (images and videos) we convert them to a web-friendly size and only the final resized version will count towards your 1GB limit. So if you upload a 20MB video and we resize it to 15MB, only 15MB will be counted towards your uploads.

But wait... there's MORE! (my best infomercial impression)

If you already have a course that is over the 100 participant or 1GB limit we've upgraded you for free! So not only does that mean you don't have to worry about the free usage limits, you'll also get those other awesome Pro features.

If all that seems a little confusing to you, don't worry I don't blame ya! It's a lot of changes to throw at you at once. I've created this little graphic that explains the new pricing changes.

Let's speed through a few other improvements we've made. I know you're dying to grab your new custom URL, so let's get this over with!

  1. Improved lesson notification emails - Notification emails for new lessons will be sent in a more timely manner and hopefully reduce some confusion and wait times there.

  2. Renamed 'Private' courses to 'Secret' courses - This has always been a pet peeve of mine. The name 'private' made it seem like a regular course was not private in some way, when that's not true at all! Both require an account, enrollment and are password protected. I think 'secret' describes it better.

  3. Other small bug fixes - As always, we've made some small interface improvements and fixed a few minor bugs.

I know that was a really long post, but we had a lot of new stuff to share with you. I hope you'll continue to provide us with awesome feedback to help us improve CourseCraft. As always, you can ask me questions in the comments or email me directly at sara@coursecraft.net.

Posted on January 26th, 2015 by Sara Funduk - 0 comments

Wow, it's been a while since our last blog post! We've been hard at work on a super secret project over here. But we did take some time out to make a couple of small improvements to the lesson options.

Remember the lesson options tab? It's okay if you don't! Not many people were able to find this page. On it you would have found the delete button for a lesson, the comments toggle and a place to set the author (if you have collaborators). Why did we bury these options and make them so hard to find? I don't know! It's one of those things that seemed like a good idea at the time. So we've done a little rearranging and moved everything to one page.

Now when you're on the lesson list and click on a lesson to edit it, you'll see this:

We've moved all of those options to the lesson edit page now, but everything else stayed the same. Here are the changes:

  • Right at the top of the page next to the title Edit Lesson, you'll see a little 'delete' button. This is will delete the whole lesson. Be careful, deleting a lesson is permanent!
  • Under the lesson title, you can set the publish date here. You can also still do this from the lesson list page.
  • You have the option to not allow comments on a particular lesson.
  • If you're working with collaborators the option to choose an author for the lesson will appear. Keep in mind that the lesson author is the only person who will receive comment notification emails about that particular lesson.
  • If you want to go back to the lesson list, just click 'lesson list' in the left sidebar.

Well that's it for that update! Hopefully we've made things a little easier to find. As always, you can email me with or comment below with any questions or feedback.